Posted by: breathliftlive | 23/12/2010

A place for partners and families of problem gamblers

My name is Kate. I’m a young, energetic woman. I love to laugh. I’m a mother. And I’m the wife of a recovering problem gambler.

My husband’s gambling problems extend well over 10 years and we have been together for over 5 years. I guess you could say I walked right into a storm without looking up and just didn’t see what I was in for. Through it all, my husband had numerous outlets to discuss, vent, cry and scream about the gambling but I truly felt I had nobody.

It wasn’t something I wanted to discuss with a close friend or family member because, try as they might, this just don’t understand. It’s impossible to understand unless it’s happening to you. I didn’t want to sit in a room of angry strangers either but I desperately wanted someone to hear me, just to listen but I didn’t find anything.

It has been the toughest, most painful time of my life but I can tell you now, it does get better. My husband and I were married in March 2010, we have a beautiful son and he (husband) has not gambled for almost 2 years. Don’t get me wrong, it’s hard, but there truly is a light at the end of the tunnel.

I’ve created this blog – “Breathe Lift Live” – as a place where partners (men and women) and families of problem gamblers can come and share their experiences with others who understand. It’s a place to share, to listen and know you are being heard, that you are not alone and that there is, even when it feels hopeless, hope.

You can email me your stories to breathliftlive@hotmail.com and I can post them to the site to share or you can add comments yourself. You can share your name or be anonymous, it’s completely your choice and there is no pressure or judgement. I’ll also be posting my own stories to share, inspirational quotes and other information. Please know that I am not a professional nor do I claim to be. I haven’t read books or gone to school on the subject but I have lived it and that’s why I’m doing this.

It’s about learning to Breathe again, Lifting yourself and each other up and Living.

Thank you for reading this.

Kate x

Leave a Reply

Categories

